Coming Soon, Dark Romance, Forbidden Romance, Reviews, Series

Review Of Pride by J.D Hollyfield, the second book in The Elite Seven Series!


Book #2 in The Elite Seven Series

By J.D Hollyfield

Releases- February. 25, 2019



The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist.

But who said the devil was a he?

In my world, she was out to cause havoc on all our lives.

She’ll use the one thing I care most about to control me—force me into her Elite world, filled with sin, deceit, and power. And under her spell, I’ll lead a sinister brotherhood of seven at one of the most prestigious universities in New Orleans.

Seven tasks set forth by the devil herself, promising nothing less than the forbidden fruit of power. What they don’t understand is it will all end in bloodshed and regret.

They call me the alpha. The one in charge. The one with pride bigger than any task I could be given. And my pride won’t let me be anywhere but at the top of the food chain until she gives me what I truly want.

My task is Meghan Thorne.

She’s too pure for me to touch, too good for me to ruin—and the only thing standing in my way to freedom.

Accept your sin wisely, for the tasks given to earn your place are not for the weak…they’re for The Elite.

As they say, pride comes before the fall.

I am Mason Blackwell.

I am Pride.

51713771_2068596149896764_2485413573224824832_o (1)

My Review


Pride is Book #2 in The Elite Seven Series! I am loving that each book is from a different author, the different writing styles make this series all the more noteworthy!

In Pride, we are introduced to Mason Blackwell. Pride, the leader of the seven, the conduit between the initiating members and The Elite.

Pride is more than the first of the seven deadly sins; it is itself the essence of all sin.- John Scott”

51403760_2310257912586067_9128462321994170368_nMason Blackwell had a terrible childhood. His parents died when he was younger and he and his sister, Evelyn, were bounced around Foster Care homes just trying to stick together when the two of them are placed at the Griffin’s.

This is where Mason’s life goes from bad, to worse.

If you read book one of this series then you know exactly who Lillian Griffin is, if not then let me just say she is the Dean of St. Augustine’s wife, a counselor at the school and pure evil.

Lillian has Mason and Evy ripped apart where they stay apart for the next two years while Mason is put through every hell you can imagine. Lillian has total control and Mason will do whatever he has to, to protect his little sister.

At this point, Mason fully understands just how far of a reach and how much power Lillian has, but he has no other choice if he wants to keep his sister safe…so he agrees to Lillian’s plan.

51573075_2309404446004747_3945287048922923008_nMason is enrolled in St. Augustine and finally reunited with his little sister, but Lillian has made it crystal clear that he either plays by her rules or Evy can be taken from him all over again.

Mason takes his place as Pride and hands out the assigned task to his ‘brothers’ but then, he gets his task…

I know I haven’t said much and I haven’t even mentioned Mason’s love interest (who has a big part in this book) but I feel like unlike Lust, Pride’s story is better going in with no spoilers, no warning.

Mason’s story is a lot different then Rhett’s so be prepared. Two books in and I’m loving this series. I see a lot of complaints about the love story being on the back burner to the Elite aspect of the story but I’m loving the comradery between the guys.


Pre-Order Pride now!

Amazon Link-

About The Author

J.D Hollyfield

Creative designer, mother, wife, writer, part-time superhero…J.D Hollyfield

J.D. Hollyfield is a creative designer by day and superhero by night. When she is not trying to save the world one happy ending at a time, she enjoys the snuggles of her husband, son’s and three doxies. With her love for romance, and a head full of book boyfriends, she was inspired to test her creative abilities and bring her own story to life.

J.D. Hollyfield lives in the Midwest, and is currently at work on blowing the minds of readers, with the additions of her new books and series, along with her charm, humor and HEA’s.

I received an ARC for my honest review- Banner

Check out my review of Lust, Book #1 in The Elite Series before you go!

Lust Teaser
“Lust is a force all its own. It consumes the mind and body, and causes even the most loyal to indulge in its sinful ways.”

Lust is available now!

Amazon Link-



6 thoughts on “Review Of Pride by J.D Hollyfield, the second book in The Elite Seven Series!”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s